Way to Go Band!!

by Coy Holcombe.  

Below is a summary of how our band members did at the Region 3 Solo and Ensemble Contest held this last Saturday. Special thanks to band director Todd Felty for the information. As you can see, our band members did an awesome job! Congratulations to everyone!    


Twenty five band students participated in the Region 3 Solo & Ensemble competition in North Garland, this past Saturday with many qualifying for the State competition to be held in May on Memorial Day at Hendrickson HS in Austin. Nineteen students brought home twenty-two 1st division Blue ribbons for Class 1 ensembles and one 1st division Red ribbon for a Class 2 solo. Each student has worked on their own with little instruction to achieve these ratings. The solo and ensemble competition is divided into three Classifications with a Class 1 being music on a college level of difficulty. Solos and ensembles must be Class 1 and achieve a 1st division rating in order to qualify for State competition. 


Ensembles receiving 1st division ratings and qualifying for State were:


The Flute Trio  “Hook Sonata #2”     Hook


Nicole Anderson, Lilly Foster, Lynde Frazier


The Brass Quintet        "Just for Show"     Neihaus


Cade Anthony, Nathan Bennett, Joshua Felty, Randal Roberts, and Alex Pharmakis


 The Percussion Ensemble    " Metric Lips"          Fleck


Chris Almand, Nicole Ballenger, Cody Marple and Nathan Taft and


The Percussion Ensemble  “If You Please”    Douthit


Chris Almand, Nicole Ballenger, Tori Bynum, Taylor Davis, Jacob Felty,  Hanna Foster, Nic Hairl, James Hampton, Cody Marple, and Nathan Taft


Flute Soloist Taylor Cranford achieved a 1st division rating on a Class 2 solo.


Tuba soloist Colton Hughes received a 3rd division rating on a Class 2 solo.


The Saxophone Quartet  Ensemble "Sinfonia #3"    Bach received a 2nd division rating on a Class 1. 


Tyler Barrett, Taylor Davis Hubert Lowry and Travis Meeks


 The Clarinet Quartet     “Canzonetta”      Mendelssohn received a 3rd division rating on a Class 1. 


Megan Bell, Andrea Foster, Hubert Lowry, and Nancy Murff


Please congratulate these students when you see them.


Leave a Reply