UIL Academic Competition

Congratulations to the following students on their performance at the UIL District Academic Competition. This year’s team turned in one of the strongest performances in many years. Also, a special thank you to all the UIL coaches that helped prepare these students for the competition. The following information comes from the High School:

Thirty five students participated in the District UIL Academic Meet on Monday, March 25th.

In Literary Criticism,
Grace Holcombe took 1st place.
Evan Arambula took 4th
The team consisting also of Dane McAfee and Elizabeth Salinas took 2nd place honors.

In Computer Applications,
Carly Copeland took 4th
Caitlyn Culp took 6th

In Headline Writing,
Casey Rickert took 1st place
Connie Benefield took 6th

In Ready Writing
MaKenzie Abbott took 1st place
Grace Holcombe took 2nd

In News Writing,
Kendra Rogers took 4th place
Rebekah Phillips took 6th

In Social Studies,
Wally Baker took 1st place
James Legallee took 3rd
The team consisting also of Kristina Woodruff took 1st  place honors.

In Mathematics,
Chris Almand took 2nd place
Ridge Smith took 3rd
The team consisting also of Evan Arambula took 1st  place honors.

In Science,
Brandon Hall took 5th place
The team consisting also of Chris Almand and Savannah Hairl
took 3rd place honors

In Number Sense,
Chris Almand took 6th place.

In Accounting,
Angela Jackson took 1st place.
Casey Rickert took 3rd.
Bethany Calhoun took 6th.
And they received 1st Place team award

In Current Issues and Events,
Dane McAfee took 6tth place
The team consisting also of Hunter Norris, Elijah Rogers, and Elizabeth Salinas took 2nd place team honors

In Persuasive Speaking,
Caleb Caswell took 3rd place

In Informative Speaking,
Justin Griffin took 3rd place
Elijah Rogers took 4th

In Poetry Interpretation,
Abra Robert took 1st place

In Lincoln-Douglas Debate,
Chandler McFarlin took  3rd place

All First and Second individual contest winners advance to Regionals, and all 1st place teams advance to Regionals. The second  place teams in the region with the highest number of points also advance and  will be announced later.

Congratulations to all students who competed. You made us  all Bulldog Proud!

Leave a Reply