National Honor Society Banquet

Last night, the National Honor Society hosted its annual banquet to honor new members and recognize returning members. In the NHS Induction Ceremony, this year’s officers talked about each of the qualities associated with membership in NHS: Character (Brandon Hall), Scholarship (Taylor Peebles), Leadership (Grace Holcombe), and Service (Chad Thomasson).

To be considered for members to NHS, students have to be a sophomore, junior, or senior, demonstrate the qualities of Leadership, Character, and Service, and maintain an 85 or greater cumulative average.

Sophomore members of NHS include: Temple Hendrickson, Matthew Melton, Kyla Morris, Gabe Purselley, Brooke Reynolds, Kelsie Richmond, Michelle Sanchez, Calie Spivey, Casie Spivey, Veronica Wheat, and Shelby White.

Junior Members of NHS include: Caitlynn Almond, Whitney Boerner, Libby Calvin, Kasey Lopez, Stormy Lucky, Jonathan Martin, Chloe Moore, Brittney Neitzel, Abra Roberts, Brittany Westbrook, and Kristina Woodruff.

Senior Members of NHS include: Makenzie Abbott, Carly Copeland, Savannah Hairl, Brandon Hall, Grace Holcombe, Solomon Jackson, Dane McAfee, Kelsey Ortiz, Taylor Peebles, Troy Saunders, Preston Schwartz, Chad Thomasson, Delaney Worth, and Mark Zimmerer.

New members of the National Honor Society were recognized (see picture below)

2015 New NHS Members
2015 New NHS Members

The NHS Seniors received their NHS Collars to be worn at graduation. Below is a picture of the seniors:

2015 NHS Seniors
2015 NHS Seniors

The Outstanding Junior Award went to Brittney Neitzel.

The Outstanding Senior Award went to Troy Saunders.

The NHS Student of Year Award went to Dan McAfee.

The final portion of the banquet introduced the 2015-2016 officers. The new officers include Brittney Neitzel, Kasey Lopez, Abra Roberts, and Kristina Woodruff (see picture below).

2015-2016 NHS Officers
2015-2016 NHS Officers

The NHS Faculty Council includes: Phyllis Bice, Jeff Brown, Lisa Bynum, Vikki GoDair, Gwen Orr, Chuck Powers, and Mandy Rolison. The NHS Sponsor, and the one that plans and oversees the banquet, is Diane Chambers,

I want to congratulate all the members of the National Honor Society for their dedication to all the principles represented by NHS.



































18 thoughts on “National Honor Society Banquet”

Leave a Reply